“God Planned My Dad’s Death”

Hey guys!

Judy and Ashley here. We just read part of “Suffering and the Sovereignty of God” and came across an interesting passage. Remember in Steve Saint’s bio how the Waodani tribe killed his father? Any typical person would react in anger or hatred towards God and blame him for the suffering they experienced. Here’s a portion of the book that we thought truly helped us to understand the truth behind suffering and the plan that God has for us.

CHECK IT OUT!

“You know what my conclusion is? I don’t think God merely tolerated

my dad’s death. I don’t think he turned away when it was happening. I

think he planned it. Otherwise I don’t think it would have happened.

This was a hard realization for me to come to. I once said that while

speaking at a church, and a man came up afterwards and said, “Don’t

you ever say that again about my God.” Afterward I found these verses

in Acts 2:

“Men of Israel, listen to these words. Jesus the Nazarene, a man

attested to you by God with miracles and wonders and signs which

God performed through him in your midst, just as you yourselves

know, you know he was God. You nailed him to a cross, you godless

people. But he was delivered up to you by the predetermined plan of

God.” (vv. 22-23)

Then I thought: Don’t anybody tell me that this can’t be. If God

could plan the death of his own righteous Son, why couldn’t he plan the

death of my dad?”

Do you think his conclusion was made out of faith or do you find this hard to believe?

(please comment :D)

    • agiraffe
    • April 28th, 2010

    I think that his conclusion was made out of faith because it’s only human nature to be angry with God when something wrong occurs, especially with the death of a loved one. From what he said, it seems that he overcame his human self in order to give God the full praise despite such a harsh circumstance. This also shows us his faith during this trial in his life and how he stayed with God, just like Job.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment